2016: East Coast to West Coast

I can’t believe it is 2017. Holy Cow! What happened to 2016? It has flown by and has definitely been an amazing year to remember.

“Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all.”

It all started a year ago when I moved to Washington, D.C. to start and incredible journey as an intern for the Church office of Public and International Affairs. I loved my time in the District. I spent my weekends in museums and walking around the city. I gained a greater appreciation and love for the history of our country. I also gained an interest in politics in probably the most crazy election yet. I went to New York for the first time and was able to really experience the “Big Apple”. Lets just say in the city that never sleeps neither did Abby in that time I was there.

Being an intern gave me a greater outlook on life. After leaving, I was excited to apply the motivation and professionalism that I had learned while I was there to school and the rest of my life. I left with an appreciation for the industry, the church, the east coast, politics and history.

Coming back from D.C. was transition. I left a place that I enjoyed everyday and was constantly motivated back to college with constant complaints and gossip. Neither do I like very much. I decided to not forget what I had learned but rather to continue to better myself and maintain a busy life. I probably bit off more than I could chew that first semester back with 16 credits of 300+ level classes and working 20 hours, but I learned that I can do hard things.I also volunteered at for Center Stage where I was able to work a Josh Turner Concert and announce him. Holy Cow…pressure. BUT – totally worth it when I got to touch his arm before he went on stage. 🙂 The best part of the semester didn’t even have to do with school, it was having a nephew born. I love being an aunt and I love baby Merit.  I loved that semester because I met some amazing people and learned incredible lessons of hard-work and humility.

When Spring semester ended, I think I was burnt out. My plan was to live in the “burg”. and just work. However after a week of honest loneness and reading the autobiography of The Pioneer Woman. I went home for 5 weeks until the next semester. This decision was one of my favorite.

I realized that with graduation soon approaching I probably would never live for a period of time in the house I grew up in. I spent my days with my sisters and nephews. I ate probably way too much of my moms amazing cooking and attended singles ward with my younger brother… weird. I also helped my brothers get there cows ready for fair week and their 4-H shows. After years of them coming to watch me, it was fun to be the one in muck boots and a baseball cap wiping manure off of their boots and their animal’s booty. I picked apricots and ate them. I went fishing with my brothers and learned to drive a boat. I loved every minute of that summer. I loved where I grew up and my family really is crazy but amazing.

This winter, I came back to BYU-Idaho, with a different and single minded approach. To graduate. I was the Vice-President of PRSSA and volunteers for Center Stage. I also had the opportunity to sit in the media room for a session of General Conference. I screamed and sang way too loud at a Scotty McCreary Concert. I helped my sister and mom host a baby shower for the FIRST niece. It is so great to have pink in our house again. Maggie Kate is so loved!

November and December were a lot less lonely and included many more text message and less sleep than other times in my life. Jake Hopkins and I started dating. We went to Jackson Hole twice, He came to Burley/Twin Falls for Christmas. We saw the Christmas Lights in Temple Square and he graduated. 2016 ended with me in his hometown of Huntington Beach, California away from all the cold. It was such a privilege to meet his family and more of friends.

I heard a quote recently, it said, “Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all.” I am excited for the daring adventure that 2017 will bring.

 

Leave a Reply

