Project 2: Event Flyer

image-0001-2

Description: A color full-bleed event flyer made using Microsoft Word and a Scanner.

Process: This flyer has changed so many times. I first began making a flyer using the image that I scanned for the scan project. This image was a great image, but I had a hard time making the message work. So I went to the library and found a new image. After that I played around with colors and lines. I chose two contrasting fonts, I kept the contrast between the background and the text low, because I did not want to distract from the ballerina as the focal point.

Message: The message of this flyer is promoting a ballet performance that all admission is through donation. These donations are going to the Move Project that promotes confidence in children.

Audience: The audience for this flyer is for families, and community members who have that want to support the Move Project. It is for anyone that has ever needed to feel a little more confident.

Color scheme and color names:
Monochromatic, Violet

Top Thing Learned: The top things I learned where how to scan an image. I also learned a little bit about Photoshop. I also learned all the many options there are in Microsoft Word.

Title Font Name & Category:
Birch Std & Slab Serif

Copy Font Name & Category:
AR Bonnie & Sans Serif
Birch Std & Slab Serif

Scanned images used, sources, original sizes, location of scanner used:
The Ballet Book (p. 185), original size: 9×13, Scanner Hp Desktop 2540 in my apartment.
ballerina 001

6 Comments Add yours

  1. jtemerson7 says:

    Great job on this project. I really like your picture. You did a great job balancing everything out and also aligning. I think that if you had made the text white, it would have created a stronger contrast and portrayed your message a little better. Overall, I really like it! https://jtemerson7.wordpress.com/2015/01/31/project-two-event-ad/

  2. McKay Boyack says:

    I love the color scheme and the picture that you used. The colors worked well together and provided enough contrast to emphasize the dancer, but the gray background wasn’t too dark to provide contrast for the black font, too. The size of your elements was great as well, because it makes the dancer a clear focal point. There is also a good flow through the rest of your ad from the image to the information.
    Linkback: https://mckayboyackcomm.wordpress.com/category/design

  3. Your image was a very good choice. I really like the way you framed the wording under the ballerina legs. I also think by placing the line on the left side was a very good idea. I think by placing it there you are able to bounce the ballerinas gaze right back to the information under the ballerina.

    Have you seen this flier? https://alextking.wordpress.com/2015/02/01/project-2-event-ad/

  4. nickwozniak says:

    Nicely done Abby! I really like the sleek simple styling used on your project. I like the deep purple contrasting the white dress. Also the purple is complementary to the gold shoes, nice touch. The arms and leg point toward the text and the message is clear. EXCEPT, it may just be because of the jpeg formatting or it being online but i can not read the small text at the bottom at all. I assume the actual printed version is easier to read but maybe for future reference make sure its is beyond clear to read. Maybe choice a easier font to read because even the larger text is difficult.

  5. nickwozniak says:

    OH! and check mine out if you get the chance!!!

Leave a Reply

